Pedro Bell Bachelor Thesis

Hey all, I am studying English in Germany to become a High School teacher and am currently writing a Bachelor Thesis about the Funkadelic Album covers with a focus on the culture war depicted on “Standing on the Verge of Getting it on”. My goal is to connect Pedro Bell’s illustrations to the times cultural discourses and especially to Franz Fanon. I was lucky to score an interview with the Uhuru Maggot Rickey Vincent who told me that Pedro deserves a much higher recognition. I love this topic, but the pressure is quite high to live up to my own expectations. I have found several articles and Interviews in the Motorbooty, Juxtapose, Stuck Between Stations, Lodown, and Roctober Magazines, as well as his appearance on Chic-A-Go-Go and the article on George Clinton’s website. I am furthermore working with George Clinton’s autobiography and Rickey Vincent’s Funk Book. I have also gotten a chance to look through the Book by Arno Konings and Marcel Visser about the P-Funk cover art. Are there any further recommendations that could help me carry on Sir Lleb’s legacy?

7 Likes

That sounds really interesting! You should try to get in contact with Seitu Hayden, he worked a lot with Pedro in the later years. He has a site where you can find his email and number. And here’s his fb page and ig page.

Maybe you could also get some info from @Bruse_Anthony.

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your thesis! :slight_smile: